stripped of everything

Go Home Chris…Be Healed.

with 2 comments

Last night someone lost a brother.
Someone lost a son.
Someone lost a mentor.
Some lost a friend.
Some lost them all.
Last night a good friend of mine, who had been a friend, a mentor, and for awhile in my life, very brotherlike, passed away.

[click on the picture to enlarge it]

Chris was 26 yrs old.
It was roughly three years ago that Chris was diagnosed with ALS(Lou Gehrig’s Disease).
I remember the day like yesterday as I heard the news.
Knowing what that meant I wept immediately.
At that time it was Chris that was comforting me.
This was who Chris was.
Chris had always been the one to make everyone feel better. To lend you whatever it was you needed in the time that you were hurting.
He was always the one who cared so much about those around him, that sometimes forgot about the things that he needed to do for himself.
However, the one thing Chris took very serious, was his passion for the Lord, which showed very evidently through his relationships with people.
Until his last breath, Chris was still encouraging others to believe that God can not only heal him, but that he had. He was continuing to tell others that our God was a God of redemption and never-ending love. That no matter what, God has our best interest in mind.
I won’t sit here and say it was easy to support Chris as he was telling everyone these things.
It wasn’t.
I was pissed.
Chris was dying, yet Chris wanted me to believe that he had God’s favor and life with him.
Are you kidding me??
However, I know in my heart that now God has completely healed Chris. That where Chris is now, that he is walking, breathing, and loving all around him.
That everything Chris told me that God was doing for him, was done just as Chris had affirmed me so.
I know this, because prior to the diagnosis and even during it, Chris was always honest about God’s direction in his life.
The loving part, well that was just who Chris was.

You will be missed brother.
I love you.

Chris had a BLOG that he wrote in. Please take time to read some of his blog post. He had wisdom way larger than my own.

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

September 28, 2008 at 6:53 pm

Posted in Frusteration, God, Healing, Life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that was a beautiful tribute
    i’m very sorry for your loss
    but i’m very happy for chris
    dancing in the light

    heidi reed

    candidchatter

    September 29, 2008 at 10:17 am

  2. I am so sorry. I just wanted you to know that I am praying for you and everyone who knew Chris to have peace in your hearts.

    Amanda

    October 4, 2008 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

