stripped of everything

26 yrs ago today…

with 3 comments


…I was born.
It’s true.
My mom and dad did the deed 9 months prior and had me on the thirty-first day of August in nineteen eighty-two.

(I’m the youngest)

With it being my birthday today.
It made me wonder; what was the United States like in 1982?

President: Ronald W. Reagan
Vice President: George Bush

Population: 231,664,458
Life expectancy: 74.5 years

Dow-Jones
High: 1,070
Low: 776

Federal spending: $745.76 billion
Federal debt: $1137.3 billion
Inflation: 6%
Consumer Price Index: 96.5
Unemployment: 7.6%

Cost of a new home: $83,900.00
Median Household Income: $20,171.00
Cost of a first-class stamp: $0.20
Cost of a gallon of regular gas: $1.05 (which was high for the year)
Cost of a dozen eggs: $0.84
Cost of a gallon of Milk: $2.24

What is something exciting about the year you were born??

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

August 31, 2008 at 7:04 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy Birthday Kid. I say “kid” because you’re 9 yrs younger than me so I have the right. Right?

    LOL – have a great one!!

    Heidi Reed

    candidchatter

    August 31, 2008 at 8:09 pm

  2. Happy Birthday!!!

    I would share something special about the day I was born, but…uh…you just made me feel really old!

    🙂

    May God bless you during your next 26 years…

    Jen

    August 31, 2008 at 9:16 pm

  3. happy belated birthday!

    tam

    September 1, 2008 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

