stripped of everything

Blogger Small Group

with 12 comments

This weeks Small Group in partnership with Consuming Worship we start the second week of our new format. Smaller portions last week did end up equaling more knowledge. This week we’re jumping in on Romans chapter three[3] verses nine[9] through twenty[20].(Side Note: If you haven’t read Romans chapter three[3], but want to participate. Read it now and write about it. Any input is better than no input. Everyone is welcome.) [Mr. Linky is at the bottom]

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I love how he starts off immediately slamming the Jews that they are no better off than anyone else. He is so firm in this decision to let them know how equal they are that he goes on to say this to them:

None is righteous, no, not one;
11 no one understands;
no one seeks for God.
12 All have turned aside; together they have become worthless;
no one does good,
not even one.”
13 “Their throat is an open grave;
they use their tongues to deceive.”
“The venom of asps is under their lips.”
14 “Their mouth is full of curses and bitterness.”
15 “Their feet are swift to shed blood;
16 in their paths are ruin and misery,
17 and the way of peace they have not known.”
18 “There is no fear of God before their eyes.”

I wonder what the Jews were thinking after this? I think about how I react when someone puts me in my place, and holds me accountable to the truth(which in most cases is different than what I’m wanting). I immediately get defensive and try to think of some excuse to why what they’re saying does not apply to me. I sometimes reply with, “I see how it applies to person X or person Y, but I’m person Z, so thanks but no thanks.” Haha. I know, lame huh?

As I was reading this, I thought about my life. I thought to myself, “Wow, does he really mean this stuff? Am I worthless? Do I really do no good?” I believe that while he is definitely using an over dramatic way to get a point across, I also believe that that point is a well needed point, a very accurate point. However, I also have to point out that while we are worthless, we are made worthy by Christ. While we do not understand, God is constantly teaching us. Because of Christ, we have been delivered from all of these things. Yet, if we forget to acknowledge that we are worthless without Christ, if we fail to give credit to God for our understanding of the Word. If we continue to proclaim our love as a love that we have created from within ourselves, then we will fail to reach the potential and blessing God meant for us. We will never really truly reach Him in a real relationship form.

This weeks passage was another reminder of God trying to help us understand that we have to lose ourselves in order to truly obtain Him

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Again, if you’re new and not sure what to do, below I have posted the instructions to the group. Take the time to read them, it will help make this group much easier for you.

INSTRUCTIONS

[p.s. Don’t forget to link back to here so everyone can go back and forth easily and to leave a comment. Be blessed]

[due to wordpress.com to post your link or see links to others blogs and findings from this weeks scripture, you have to click the Mr Linky icon]

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

June 24, 2008 at 1:21 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, Kyle

    Pretty cool. I just stumbled across this. Hopefully I’ll figure out how to do it. Looks great.

    Cindy

    cindyinsd

    June 24, 2008 at 1:50 am

  2. I got more out of writing this post this week than I have for most of the others. I’m glad you picked to go through the book of Romans. Thank you for hosting this small group it is changing lives.

    Peace and Grace

    Heath

    June 24, 2008 at 7:10 am

  3. […] Group. Get in on this, leave some feedback. You can find everyone else’s thoughts on this here, or link to the main man’s page at […]

  4. This is so good for me. I love it. Thanks for keeping it up

    b/

    June 24, 2008 at 8:01 am

  5. Perfect summary… This weeks passage was another reminder of God trying to help us understand that we have to lose ourselves in order to truly obtain Him

    Michael

    June 24, 2008 at 9:39 am

  6. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3:1-8. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (see Blogger Small […]

  7. This one was a good one, smaller sections like this that are specifically separated by Paul in his writings is much easier to digest than the entire chapter would be.

    Your post was good, I love when you say, what were the Jews thinking at this point. No kidding… Paul basically sticks it to them and I guess at that point my jaw would just be on the ground.

    Scott Fillmer

    June 24, 2008 at 10:10 am

  8. […] This is a Blogger Small Group entry in partnership with Run’n Like a Vagabond. […]

  9. I have to punt this week. Read all about it on my site, but man…this is good stuff.

    Thanks for understanding. I’ll be back next week!

    Jen

    June 24, 2008 at 3:16 pm

  10. […] June 25, 2008 Romans 3:9-20 Posted by cindyinsd under Bible Study, small group | Tags: child, gentile, god, god’s law, grace, Greek, hebrew, hellenist, holy spirit, humility, jesus, jew, jewish, jews, law, law of moses, mercy, romans, sin, spiritual, spiritualism |   I’ve found a new  (well, new to me) blog that’s doing a bible study “small group” on-line. Looks like they might have to “birth” a new group pretty soon if they’re going to keep the moniker small, but I want to give it a try. If you’d like to try, too, or if you’re part of the group and would like to go back there, click here. […]

  11. […] I’ve found a new  (well, new to me) blog that’s doing a bible study “small group” on-line. Looks like they might have to “birth” a new group pretty soon if they’re going to keep the moniker small, but I want to give it a try. If you’d like to try, too, or if you’re part of the group and would like to go back there, click here. […]

  12. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3:1-8. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (see Blogger Small […]


Leave a Reply

