stripped of everything

Making a Tangible Difference

with 5 comments

David Crowder:

To carry the story of God in a way that makes a real, tangible difference to those we live among can be really frustrating at times. I think the only way to not become paralyzed by the task, is, to get close enough to these issues for them to turn into names and faces that walk up to your fence on a Saturday; who lean in and yell your name and give you something that leaves you smiling and tearful and repentant and a little more in love with the people God has made.

Thoughts??

[Complete Article of above quote]

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

June 20, 2008 at 11:41 am

Posted in authenticity, Humbled

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is awesome. It’s just like the philosophy for the non-profit I’m involved with. The Unthinkable Project, aka Unthinkable, is about bringing awareness to the plight of the homeless in Atlanta & GA. The guys who started have a movie (hhtp://www.unthinkableproject.org) and we are NOT allowed to be involved with the project UNLESS we are doing something to help with the homeless problem. We also refer to the homeless as our friends and learn their names and spend time in their world. We don’t just SEE the issue we also GO and DO something about it. Hence the mantra SEE. GO. DO.

    Thanks for this quote I’m going to share it with out team this Sunday at our board meeting.

    jonese

    June 20, 2008 at 11:54 am

  2. I read the whole story… it amazes me… it humbles me once again to think about how I make assumptions based on looks and actions … I needed to hear these words right now… “To carry the story of God in a way that makes a real, tangible difference to those we live among can be really frustrating at times.”

    Thanks for pointing out…

    Michael

    June 20, 2008 at 4:52 pm

  3. I must admit that living in Orlando I was used to homelessness. It wasn’t until I had a roommate who would help the homeless and in turn put each homeless person he met picture on our fridge that I began wanting to change it. Day after day I would see these faces on our fridge, hear him telling their stories, and soon I was involved with helping them. So yeah its the names and faces that get me every time!

    Ken Storey

    June 21, 2008 at 2:54 am

  4. Dude Ken, that’s awesome. I can’t even imagine how that would effect me. Seeing these faces every day and hearing their broken or victorious stories.

    I can’t even begin to fathom the type of brokenness you were able to experience.

    Thanks for the comment and for sharing.

    vagabondrunn

    June 23, 2008 at 8:56 am

  5. i love David Crowder.
    & i love what he has just said. it’s in the times when i am completely frustrated with humanity, that i realize how much i need to be a part of it. not dancing around it with a sense of ignorance. but an actual, breathing part of humanity that is not afraid to get close.

    –ash

    agenesislife

    June 24, 2008 at 10:16 pm


Leave a Reply

