stripped of everything

Jon McLaughlin, a Sweet Waitress, & an Gibson Guitar

with 3 comments

Last night my buddy Zach and II made my way to Indianapolis to see the Jon McLaughlin performance at the HardRock Cafe downtown.

The concert was a benefit concert for Riley Hospital for Children. Throughout the evening they sold raffle tickets for items that were donated by various supporting company’s. All proceeds were to go directly to Riley.

Before the show I was able to meet up with fellow blogger Jason Bean. It was Jason’s first time hearing Jon in concert. I believe his comments thereafter were something along the lines of:

I will be traveling wherever he is to see this guy

For me one of the smaller highlights of the evening was our waitress. A petpeave of mine is a terrible waitress. Megan was kind, sweet, and efficient. Throughout the evening Megan did however harass me to buy some raffle tickets. She was persistant, I have to give her credit. If you know me, you know that persistance always wins with me. I ended up purchasing five(5) tickets for twenty(20) dollars. To be honest, it wasn’t too hard to talk me into buying some with the benefit of the earnings going to Riley.(Again, if you know me, you know I spent a large portion of time in Riley growing up)

After Jon performed they went through and drew tickets for all the give away items. Some of the items were a Colts signed football, Indianapolis Indians tickets and hats, Tattoo gift cards($100 & $200), a Fender electric guitar signed by Jon and the band, and then the last item was a Gibson Epiphone electric guitar also signed by the band(there were many other smaller items not listed).

They had called all of the ticket numbers off and I had not won anything. However, the ticket drawn for the Gibson guitar had not been claimed, so they had to redraw(you can see where this is headed). They ended up drawing my ticket, exciting myself, Jason, Zach, and my waitress Megan. I have to give props to Megan by the way; I’m not sure I would have bought any tickets if it hadn’t been for her. So Megan, thanks!

Anyhow, enjoy the rest of the photos:


Jon Getting off stage

I still can’t believe I won this guitar signed by Jon and the band

Megan and I after I had won

Myself, Jon, and Zach after the show

It was a great show!

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

June 19, 2008 at 9:06 am

Posted in Music

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Independent Liverpool FC Website
    http://kop-tv.com

    Kop-TV

    June 19, 2008 at 5:41 pm

  2. […] it hadn’t been for our great waitress, Megan, Kyle would have never won the guitar, but she was persistent and convinced Kyle to purchase some raffle […]

  3. You actually constructed a lot of terrific tips throughout your post, “Jon McLaughlin,
    a Sweet Waitress, & an Gibson Guitar |” Kitchen Window
    Treatments . I may remain returning to ur blog eventually.

    With thanks ,Emmett

    Kristina

    February 27, 2013 at 8:23 pm


Leave a Reply

