stripped of everything

Blogger Small Group

with 16 comments

This weeks Small Group in partnership with Consuming Worship we start the initial chapter of our study of Romans; Romans Chapter Two(2). (Side Note: If you haven’t read Romans chapter two(2), but want to participate. Read it now and write about it. Any input is better than no input. Everyone is welcome.) [Mr. Linky is at the bottom]

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

My format this week is going to be similar but a little different than normal. I’m going to break the scriptures up into two parts this week, instead of by paragraphs.

God’s Righteous Judgement
Romans 2:1-16

1 …for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself…

Speaking as a human, but more so as a guy, I can say that I am quick to judge the other guys around me. I’m not sure if it’s my pride, my fear of another guy having just a little more testosterone than me, or what it really is. However, I know that if a male around me messes up or makes a mistake, I am quick to jump in with a sentence, “Can you believe that…” or “Why would she date a guy like that…”. I could go on, but I won’t. Not only here am I reminded that God’s judgement is not only okay, but it’s full of hope, healing, restoration, etc. Compare that to my judgement, which is only selfish and harming. So why do I do it? Why is it that I’m so quick to judge others of the same things that I do every day? Hmm…uhh, see verse five;

5. But because of your stubborness

Stubborn? Who me? I think about my judgement towards people and I think about what is going through my head as I’m judging someone; “I can’t believe they did that, they’ve been told so many times not to.” or “Didn’t they learn from their previous mistakes?!”. However, every time I have messed up, I can always tie a time with it where I have learned that I shouldn’t have done something, yet I still do it. So while I was reading this section and coming across sections such as these:

8But for those who are self-seeking and who reject the truth and follow evil, there will be wrath and anger.

and…

12All who sin apart from the law will also perish apart from the law, and all who sin under the law will be judged by the law. 13For it is not those who hear the law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous.

It all just hit me. Read thirteen again; “it IS NOT those who hear the law who are righteous in God’s sight, but it is those who obey the law who will be declared righteous.” I’m so quick to pass judgement, and to know what scripture says. I can smack the bible on everyone. I’m great at that. However, I’m very slow to apply it fully to my life.

In the end I think it all comes down to not understanding verse eleven in my heart; “For God does not show favoritism”, or maybe it’s me hoping salvation is work-based. Or, is it just comes down to laziness. It’s so much easier to do it my way. Either way though, I’m pretty sure I fall short.

In the end His way definitely seems a lot better.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Again, if you’re new and not sure what to do, below I have posted the instructions to the group. Take the time to read them, it will help make this group much easier for you.

INSTRUCTIONS

[p.s. Don’t forget to link back to here so everyone can go back and forth easily and to leave a comment. Be blessed]

[due to wordpress.com to post your link or see links to others blogs and findings from this weeks scripture, you have to click the Mr Linky icon]

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

June 9, 2008 at 11:19 pm

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ok, go to do small blogger group info and freaked out by theme change… about the same thing.

    This one I like. Well presented and clean, looks GREAT. Small blogger group to come.

    Scott Fillmer

    June 10, 2008 at 6:41 am

  2. […] don’t get to teach much and teaching is a passion I have. Secondly, I am participating in the Blogger Small Group over at vagabondrunn.wordpress.com, and we’re tackling the book of Romans. Intense to say the […]

  3. I’m in like flynn

    bslash

    June 10, 2008 at 8:30 am

  4. I’m with you on the stubbornness ( a word with three double consonants) and the judgmental attitude. I’m the guilty party, arrived and ashamed. But, alas, I am not alone in this pool of uncleanliness. We all are.

    You hit it square on the head. Only those who obey the law are righteous. But I hope that everyone gets the point he is making. Only those who obey. Surely they all realized rather quickly that they had all already broken the law, thus revealing that none were righteous or could ever be considered in that category. Paul will help us with that later if we don’t get his point and he just comes right out and says it.

    Yeah, I’m glad that He is sovereign, because His way certainly seems a lot better.

    bslash

    June 10, 2008 at 8:35 am

  5. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 2. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (see Blogger Small […]

  6. […] posting is part of a Blog Small Group. If you would like to get involved go here. It’s a good way to study scripture and connect with some fellow brothers and sisters on the […]

  7. I with you on all counts, brother.

    This study is stretching me like you wouldn’t believe….

    Jen

    June 10, 2008 at 9:21 am

  8. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 2. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger Small […]

  9. “Stubborn? Who me?” I am. I also tend to judge others harder on the things I have problems with myself. Judging others is something that I have been working on for awhile now and It keeps popping up all over the place. Thanks for you heart on this one.

    Heath

    June 10, 2008 at 10:08 am

  10. This is hitting just like the Book of James. Pride is an issue for me sometimes. As I look at my daily life I realize that there is so much room to grow. So many things to learn. How can I possibly judge someone else… isn’t sin a sin regardless of size. I am looking forward to the remaining chapters of Romans. I have so much to learn.

    Michael

    June 10, 2008 at 10:13 am

  11. It is an amazing thing that God does not show favoritism. I always love the thought that God is the most just court, far more just than any government can try to be, but thank goodness He doesn’t give us what we deserve.

    Your last statement is true, His way is the best way.

    Scott Fillmer

    June 10, 2008 at 11:13 am

  12. […] This is a Blogger Small Group entry in partnership with Run’n Like a Vagabond. […]

  13. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3:1-8. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger […]

  14. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger Small […]

  15. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger Small […]

  16. […] is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 2. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (see Blogger Small […]


Leave a Reply

