stripped of everything

We Are One

with 5 comments

One of the blogs that I read every day is Jamie Tworkowski’s blog over at TWLOHA. Today while reading a post from May 15th he hit on something that made my chest cave in.

Before I continue read an excerpt from his entry:

“With TWLOHA, we often say that every story matters, that every life matters. We say that pain is real and that it deserves our attention. We say that people need other people. We would be following an awful trend if we bought into the idea that these things somehow only apply to people who live where we live, or speak the language we speak. There is distance in the borders and the barriers. Distance more with all the seas. The danger in the distance is that a great lie gets whispered. i don’t hear it, but i feel it when i see the pictures on the news. The lie i’m talking about says something like this: “It’s okay. This is happening far away. Those people are different. This doesn’t affect you. It doesn’t matter that much.””

So often I am so quickly to look at me, my close friends, my family, and how they are doing.
I ignore the person on the street.
At the grocery.
At the mall.
The patient at my work.
I do this because their lives I believe DO NOT effect my life.
In that thinking is where I am wrong.
The truth is, our lives should overlap in some form if we have the chance/opportunity to have contact with one another. We should choose to not be silent in our love, in our faith, in our walk.
Instead we should seek ways that we can share that love and faith. Not just with the people directly tied to us, but also with the people who don’t know us at all.

I appreciate Jamie for his honesty, boldness, and willingness to share the tug in his heart every time he blogs.

[To read the rest of Jamie’s post, please GO HERE]

[This is in participant with WaterCooler Wednesday at Randy Elrod’s blog]

Written by vagabondrunn

May 28, 2008 at 11:31 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You hit me right between the eyes.

  2. The youtube link to my Abortion PSA is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9Uaat4LQ8k. It isn’t too great, but feel free to post it.

    I think TWLOHA is a great organization. Sometimes I forget that I can make a difference, because I am just one person.

    Have a great day.

    Andra

    May 28, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  3. very cool. good thoughts.

    Tyler

    May 28, 2008 at 5:43 pm

  4. We Americans might be far-removed from the realities of life in other countries, but if you travel at all, you realize that all eyes are on America and all senses are tuned in to what we (USA) say and do. So while we arrogantly stay steeped in ignorance of what goes on around the world, the world can’t stop measuring themselves against what we are doing, saying, thinking, publicizing, inventing, etc. We need to start looking way past the ends of our noses and see the entire world, not just our little self-created world immediately around us. If we do, I believe it will have a direct impact on the way we live and move and breathe and spend and vote and think and speak. It will bring back a renewed sense of caring for others not just for ourselves. It will remind us of the privileges and freedoms and rights that we often take for granted in America. It will make us more likely to be thankful and grateful for family and friends and clean water and decent transportation and specialized medical care.

    marina

    May 29, 2008 at 1:40 am

  5. Messages like your post bring this realization to me; it’s a realization that keeps coming back, like a dream you can’t shake.
    Some day, I’ll be in heaven. And I’ll share it with people who starved to death while I was around, with people who suffered genocide while I lived in safety, people who suffered in misery while I lived in comfort.
    It makes my blood run cold.

    jeffsdeepthoughts

    May 30, 2008 at 6:20 pm


Leave a Reply

