stripped of everything

LIFE & ABORTION

with 9 comments

Alive

Movement

Hands & Feet

Speechless

Powerless

Death

ABORTION

I was browsing some blogs and came across a blog discussing abortion. (Read it here)
It’ll piss you off
Make you sad
It’s truth
Powerful
Real
Depressing
Unignorable
Abortion needs a reaction

How many time do we react to the act of abortion but in a way that makes God disgusted that we reacted at all?

As Christians, we are called to love, regardless. Do we love them when we find out they have done something we hate? Do we love them in the midst of their sin?

This goes so much deeper than just abortion. However for now the question is as followed:

How can/should we react towards abortion, for the woman and the child?

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

This is a part of WaterCooler Wednesday @ Randy Elrod’s site.

Written by vagabondrunn

May 14, 2008 at 10:09 am

Posted in Frusteration, Life, Protest

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First let’s remind ourselves who (age group) is following through w/ abortions. They are 15-24. They are children who don’t know the consequences of their own actions. They may or may not know the love of God. They have no where to turn. They made a mistake. They don’t have the cognitive ability to fix said mistake w/ out considering an abortion.

    Regardless of all of this, they are loved by God. Though they don’t know it yet, they are his treasure. He WILL forgive them. Holding onto it for the rest of their lives will do nothing but hurt them, their friends, their husband, their (eventual) children.

    I don’t think spending energy & time on ridiculing them cures anyting. Let’s volunteer at an organization that provides help & understanding. Let’s give money, time, resources to something that’s worth while and protects these girls from one of THE BIGGEST MISTAKES of their lives. These places have a HUGE success rate at adoption and/ or keeping the baby. Let’s train them to be able to take care of their child instead of feeling incapable and that their only option is abortion. Or that the whole world is against them because they even CONSIDERED an abortion.

    Let’s help them open the line of communication w/ their parents. Truly, that’s what the majority of young girls who go through w/ an abortion are worried about; their parents reaction.

    For girls who do go through w/ an abortion – they must know that one day, when they meet God in that dark, desolate place…he’ll be waiting w/ open arms…open arms that are full of forgiveness that he will bestow on a truly undeserving person. The pain will come up every now and again, but He’ll use it for something bigger than we’ll ever see.

    Needless to say, this post made me sad, not angry. Sad that people point fingers, instead of extend helping hands. Ridicule instead of love. Accuse instead of affirm. Didn’t God show mercy & grace to those that had made poor choices (us)? Didn’t God love the woman at the well?

    Mandy

    May 14, 2008 at 10:32 am

  2. I would agree Mandy with almost everything you said.

    I agree with the extending a hand and loving them. However, at the same time, is there something more we can do to stop these abortions from ever taking place?

    Is this a parenting problem?
    A lack of confidence?
    Just another common mistake?

    Sure, this is no worse than anything else that is done, and God will forgive them and will want to heal them and not have them hold on to that so they can live again.

    My big point here is just, “HOW”. How can we change the statistics on this? For the sake of everyone. The woman. The child.

    vagabondrunn

    May 14, 2008 at 10:38 am

  3. Sadly, I think the only thing that would stop a girl that is THAT desperate, would be to make it illegal. Girls would think much harder about it if there was more risk (arrested, poor equipment, lack of doctors WILLING to do it). Right now, the risk is “minimal”….scarring & bleeding are about it. Of course grown ups know that it’s not minimal. The emotional aspect will live FOREVER. You can’t look at a baby and not be reminded, especially your own children.

    I volunteered a few times at a place in OR that provided counseling w/ girls who were pregnant and still in the decision making process. I could not believe how many girls walked in w/ abortion as their only option, and walked out feeling like they could do it. They provided classes that the girls could earn “dollars”, then they could use those “dollars” to buy clothing, diapers, food, furniture for their baby.

    You could see it in their eyes…a new outlook. Having confidence. Finding God through the service of these volunteer women.

    I guarantee you there are places like that in every city, urban or rural, across the U.S. We just choose to ignore that idea and ridicule. It’s much easier than having to invest emotionally in someone life. Loving people, sometimes hurts. But if it’s good enough for God, it’s good enough for me.

    Mandy

    May 14, 2008 at 10:46 am

  4. By “do it” I mean, become a parent. Not abort.

    Mandy

    May 14, 2008 at 10:47 am

  5. Love.
    An old idea.
    A new Revolution.

    Why do we struggle so much to love everyone?
    Why do we pick who to love and who not to love?

    Those two questions piss me off!
    (Rule #1, bring up love and the lack thereof, and I will become an angry fool and talk for hours)

    vagabondrunn

    May 14, 2008 at 10:50 am

  6. Because loving people hurts.

    We love those that are easy to love, well, because it’s easy, and doesn’t hurt as bad.

    Don’t think for a second that I’m not guilty of the above crime of not loving. I’m so guilty. I do it often, even though I know I shouldn’t.

    Mandy

    May 14, 2008 at 10:54 am

  7. I can’t even do it, I can go look at it, it will just get my blood boiling today and I need to move on with some actual work. I will check it out at some point though, thanks for posting it.

    Scott Fillmer

    May 14, 2008 at 12:03 pm

  8. Hi. Thanks for linking to my post and I saw you added me to your sidebar. Awesome!

    Just for a bit of defense: I do love the women who choose to abort. I feel sorry for them. I am not pointing any fingers and I’m sorry if it came thru that way.

    Thanks again!

    Heidi Reed
    of
    http://www.candidchatter.wordpress.com

    candidchatter

    May 14, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  9. It’s always a BABY when it’s planned & wanted, it’s a fetus when it’s an accident, unplanned & not wanted. Sex is for grown-up- that’s what the kids need to know.

    I had very minor complications when I was pregnant, immediately went to my Dr for an ultrasound & all was ok. I have NEVER ever experienced such relief in knowing that my 6wk old baby’s heart was still beating strong. I have since had cancer and have scans done every 6 months for the past 6 yrs. Each time my Dr. tells me my scans are clean and no sign of cancer I am relieved, however I have never experienced the relief that I experienced I mentioned above regarding hearing my son’s heart beating at 6wks when there was a possibility that I could have lost him. Never – he was already my kid who was going to be driving me crazy the next 8 yrs. The kids need to know what is growing inside them is the same as their little/big bro or sister, in other words – A REAL LIVE BABY!

    sharon

    May 15, 2008 at 10:33 pm


Leave a Reply

