stripped of everything

HOME!

with 3 comments

I’m back home.
I have not been home since yesterday morning.
I went to work yesterday, then went directly from there to picking up my old vehicle, which I’m trying to sell, the Yukon. From there went and picked up Christian and headed to Indianapolis.
In Indianapolis was this competition. It was for Fine Arts. Fine Arts includes:

  • Human Videos(what I went to see)
  • Short Serman’s
  • Rap
  • Worship
  • Song Production/Writing/Singing

    And other things that I’m sure I’m unaware of, like paintings/drawings and such.
    Anyhow, after the Human Video Performance(which placed high enough to make it to Nationals), Christian and I went back to Ryan’s house. We sat there for about three hours around a camp fire, with a guitar and conversation, and enjoyed the evening. We crashed on Ryan’s couch. It was just a very cool evening.
    Today when we woke up, we ate breakfast and headed back to the competition, where Ashlee and Beth sang a song that they wrote. Very cool. We stuck around there for awhile, listened to some short sermons, watched some Rap performances, and then headed home.

    I won’t lie, as I sat here I’m just drained. I’m tired. I’m ready for bed. Tomorrow I have to get up, head to Anderson, pick up my brother, and head to The Bridge. Ryan, the team and I are all meeting with Chris Mishler and the staff for lunch. It should be a really good meeting. Lots of informative details about service and planting a church. Tomorrow night you should expect an update on all the church plant details.

    Please be praying for us tomorrow. Tomorrow is a big day. On top of meeting with the staff from The Bridge, we are also having a first meeting with all the initial church planting team. Lots of information to go over. I’m sure we will lose some, and probably also gain others along the way. Pray for us that we can be obedient to God and whatever He wants for this church. To stick with His vision, and not change it regardless. This vision has to always be God’s vision.

    I also want to take the time to thank everyone for taking the time to vote for a logo for the church. I know we had multiple people contribute their idea’s to us, and we appreciate each one. Honestly. Tomorrow at our meeting we will talk more about the logo and I will be sure to let everyone know where that stands.

    Anyhow, I love you guys and thank you all for taking the time to pray for us. Not only is that prayer important to us individually, but to the team and the church as a whole. You are a part of this plant, even if you’re thousands of miles away. From Ryan and the team….Thanks!

    [UPDATE: We did not meet with The Bridge staff on Sunday. Chris’ grandmother passed away the day before, so we postponed until this next Sunday. Please lift Chris and his family up in your prayers]

  • Written by vagabondrunn

    April 20, 2008 at 12:24 am

    3 Responses

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

      Stacey Derbinshire

      Stacey Derbinshire

      April 20, 2008 at 12:28 am

    2. Selling the Yukon? Are you doing Dave Ramsey like the rest of Indiana? I sold mine last year (tear). I don’t miss it (lie). Now I have an Excursion. It was cheap and gets great gas mileage (another lie, well the gas part anyway).

      I imagine planting a church is very difficult. What a gift to be given…leadership! GCC has been an amazing place for me. I pray that your efforts produce some folks that are, what we call, “Odd for God.”

      Mandy

      April 20, 2008 at 1:52 am

    3. Wow, your weekends are packed fuller than mine! I will definitely be praying for the church plant and all involved.

      Jen

      April 20, 2008 at 7:49 am


    Leave a Reply

