stripped of everything

Church Plant Update (5)

with 2 comments

Yesterday I took off from my 40hrs/wk job to have meetings all day for our church Plant. Today I’m back in the office.

I would have to say that I believe our meeting went really well. In the meeting was just three of us, Ryan, Kimberly, and myself. From 12-6:00pm we sat in Panera and talked about everything we could think of to talk about:

  • Finances
  • Core Group Expectations
  • Values
  • Vision
  • Scenarios
  • Agenda for Sunday
  • Timeline
  • Logo’s
  • Church Name
  • Adult Core Group
  • Student Core Group

    All of these things were equally important to discuss. This Sunday will be our first Core Group Leadership Meeting(yeah I know, it’s a long name). With that coming up so soon, we aimed to hit a lot of topics that we felt were important to have answers to, so when asked we could immediately answer them. Of course there will always be questions asked that we are unprepared for, which is one of the purposes of the core group, to help form those answers. As a group we hope to assign tasks, discuss topics, and ultimately form our family/church and the vision and values of all of that.

    This week I ask that if everyone could please be praying for this Wednesday, which is when Ryan, Kim, and the student core leadership team will meet. Also on Wednesday, Ryan, Kim, and myself are meeting with Chris Mishler, the pastor of The Bridge Anderson, to discuss his church plant about six years ago, and to also just pick his brain a little for some tips/tools. Please also pray for Sunday, which is when our Adult Core Leadership team will meet for the first time to really get this show on the road. It’s a very exciting time for us, yet we know prayer is going to be one of the most important parts of all of this.

    Oh, and did I mention I wish I was back in Panera all day today. I love my team.

    Blogging Small Group Introduction
    Also, just wanted to give a quick brief of something that will be taking place here at VagabondRunn in the very near future. In the next week or so I will be introducing an online blogging small group. In the next day or so I will post all of the details and how you can get involved, so be watching for this. This small group will be in partnership with my friend over at Consuming Worship.

  • Written by vagabondrunn

    April 15, 2008 at 10:07 am

    2 Responses

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. I hope things surrounding the church you are planting goes smoothly. My wife and I are on our 3rd church plant and it’s an AWESOME adventure…tiring, but awesome!

      mark

      April 16, 2008 at 10:47 am

    2. WAY different than OR. I take my kids back often so they don’t forget the beauty of trees and mountains. Not that corn fields are pretty, but nothing compares to the Willamette Valley.

      Hey – why aren’t your tweets showing up on my page?

      Mandy

      April 16, 2008 at 6:41 pm


    Leave a Reply

