stripped of everything

Let’s Just Be Honest…

with 3 comments

[If you are reading this as of May 25th 2008, you probably found me while googling the word “alcohol”. I just want to say welcome and to invite you to look around. You might find some interesting stuff here. Enjoy!]

Am I a christian?
Yes.

Do I love community?
Yes.

Do I like to have a drink with my friends?
Yes.

Now that you know those three answers let me discuss something on my heart.

The more I am introduced to family’s who have been torn apart by alcohol, the more I hate the idea of drinking alcohol at all.

My friends and I are big fans of going out, having a beer, and building a community. Most of us are big sports fans, which creates many opportunities for us to hang out and just talk. Again, most of the time all of us order a beer.

Nothing wrong with that right?

Or is there?

You see recently I have been introduced to a family who has been completely torn apart by alcohol. The dad has allowed alcohol to take over his life. He is drunk more than he’s sober. He has four kids ranging from the ages of 4 to 18. The two younger kids are not sure really what’s fully going on, the second oldest(we’ll call him kid3) however, it has affected the hardest. The mom has finally had enough. She has chosen to separate from her husband, which in return has been really hard on kid3. It had gotten to the point where the dad would always be drunk, and mean, and make everyone feel less because of it. Once the separation took place, he insisted that kid3 was the only person that could save the marriage, unfairly placing that pressure on kid3. In all honesty, that just pissed me off. Kid3 does not need his father telling him that for him to feel that way. As someone that has gone through his parents divorcing, I’m certain kid3 already feels like it is his fault in some way.

I won’t continue any further to save the idenity of the family. However, since choosing to separate it’s only gotten worse in every fashion.

I guess my question to you and to myself is this. What good has ever came out of alcohol. If there is something good that came out of alcohol, then imagine replacing that alcohol with something non-alcoholic. I believe you would probably see the same results.

Pray for that family. Pray for wisdom. Pray for strength. Pray how you are lead.

Like this post? Subscribe to my blog feed here!

Written by vagabondrunn

April 9, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Posted in Family, Life, Relationships

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Although my father strongly believes in the conclusion you lean towards (that alcohol has no value whatsoever), I strongly believe there are few things in this world that can’t be abused. Guns kill & defend. Water nourishes & drowns. Cars transport & crash. The key with absolutely anything we do, consume, use, etc is to be responsible & intelligent. Have a goal & a purpose that is reasonable & worth the risk involved, otherwise, don’t. For me, alcohol is a tool for relaxation, stress relief, anxiety reduction, ego loosening & as you have identified, socialization. However, I am VERY aware that it only accomplishes those beneficial effects if used appropriately. I have in my past abused it & wish not to repeat those episodes. I consider myself blessed & fortunate to have survived one or more, frankly. In a lot of ways, I see the place of alcohol as medicinal in the same way as OTC drugs, which coincidentally are now being seen as an increasing & serious means of abuse & addiction, in a similar fashion as alcoholism. To put the blame that lies in human error & foolishness on the inanimate tool seems unwise, in my opinion.

    Joshua Murphy

    April 10, 2008 at 11:19 pm

  2. I am making a web page about he effects of alcohol. My teacher is making it so I have to get permission to certain photos. I was wondering if I can use the picture in this article.
    Many Thanks

    Vik

    May 27, 2008 at 5:24 am

  3. Vik, feel free to use whatever you need. Thanks bud.

    vagabondrunn

    May 27, 2008 at 8:11 am


Leave a Reply

