stripped of everything

Weekend Worship (Creative Chaos)

with 3 comments

This morning I found myself at The Bridge Church in Anderson, IN. Ryan, Jamie, Jenniffer, and some others all came along for the experience. This week they were having a special service in between the two regular services. This service was fully to focus on praying and worshiping. To start out the service it felt like any other service with some worship and prayer. However, shortly after the first song and first prayer, a young lady, probably in college, made her way onto the stage. She thanked everyone for being there and the she pointed out a few special things about the service before the lights became dim and we sang and dance praises to our Father. On the wall there were two large pieces of paper for you to write or draw whatever you wanted. In front there was an area that was placed with candle’s that you could light in symbolization of a prayer for someone in need. Also in the front was a communion table for if you felt the leading to partake in communion for our Father. Next to that, a few feet away, was pieces of paper, pens, coloring pencils for you to draw, or create any type of art that you were being lead to do. Lastly there were two people in the back standing, waiting, for anyone who needed prayer, or for anyone that just desired prayer. The service was real. Authentic. Powerful. It was God without in his original form.

Half way through the service I just broke down. I don’t know what the other 400 people felt, all I knew was what I was feeling. I felt God and I felt his love and grace pour over me with no end. I found myself kneeling in my seat, sobbing like a baby, reaching out to Him, asking Him to come inside and heal my heart and to give me strength. To cover me with His grace, no matter what that may look like.

Way too often I get caught up with singing and forget to worship. I get caught up in what my words are when I’m praying, instead of letting my heart plead and speak to Him in the raw sense that He asks us to come. I say these things, yet so often I don’t do them. I get caught up in myself. I get caught up in the world, and forget to remember that this world is His.

He asks me to come, He asks you to come as well. Come to Him, lay your sins before Him and He will forgive you. He will give you grace. Sometimes that grace will be through discipline, other times that grace will look like a second or third chance. His grace, though looks like many things, is always pure and real. His grace is always out of love.

He is real. His love for us is equally as real.

Lord…I surrender.

[creative chaos entry] Check out the rest at Ragamuffinsoul.
cc.jpg

Check out the rest of Vagabondrunn!

Written by vagabondrunn

March 30, 2008 at 8:40 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sounds like an amazing service. Mine was cool too.

    Jana

    April 2, 2008 at 3:57 am

  2. Great Service!!!!

    I did not see a link back to “ragamuffinsoul, creative chaos”. Sorry I was just given a new job “creative chaos police”

    Keep it coming.
    Carlos’ Mom

    Lita aka Grandma

    April 3, 2008 at 3:48 pm

  3. “Also in the front was a communion table for if you felt the leading to partake in communion for our Father.”

    What does that mean? Is communion really about “for our Father”? Just curious.

    I’m skeptical of “creative” worship, or chaos in worship for that matter. But I wish traditional worship services would change. It feels so silly to sing about bowing when there’s a row of chairs in front of you and people on either side preventing you from doing so. This morning I sat with a bunch of young people, and it was so distracting that by the time I was really focusing on the words the song portion was over – and how often do we corporately worship through prayer? Yet doesn’t Acts describe that activity so much more often than singing?
    To God be all glory,
    Lisa of Longbourn

    lisaoflongbourn

    April 14, 2008 at 1:18 am


Leave a Reply

