stripped of everything

Time not so well spent…

with one comment

With March Madness definitely put in full throttle, my life has been full of…nothing. It’s got me thinking the past few days about the way I spend my time. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I tend to spend a lot of my time watching sports, talking to friends from out of town online, looking up stuff on the internet, reading other people’s blogs, etc. I would probably go all the way to saying out of the 16-18 hours a day I’m awake that nine of them are spent at work, and about 5-7 of the rest of the time is spent doing something of the list above.

[Honestly. Sad, I know.]

Think about that for a second, if I took just half of those hours and put them towards my focus on my relationship with God. Am I saying I don’t ever do anything to feed my relationship growth with God? No, because I do. Also, I don’t believe there is a rule of how much time you are supposed to spend focusing on your relationship with God. I know a lot of church’s and people within churches that will tell you or insist that there is the guide to follow on our time spent on God. In reality shouldn’t all of our time be spent on Him in some way? So sure, they’re failing to. We all are.

Anyhow, if we all took more time to focus on our relationship with God, and focused on instilling more knowledge of how God wants us to live our lives, think how different the world would be. How much we, hand in hand with God, could change our city, our state, our country, and really, even the nations. With that said, I truly believe that God wants us to enjoy life. He wants us to laugh. He wants us to smile. He wants us to have fun. Yet, He wants us to do all of this with Him by our side. He is longing to be in our lives. He is longing for us to let Him love us. He desperately wants us to know that we don’t have to have things “perfect” before we come to Him. Yet, He only desires for us to come to Him desiring a relationship.

I’m not the perfect christian by any means, not even close. I don’t have many things figured out. At times I feel similar to my car keys, one moment I feel lost and the next minute I know exactly where I am. However, I know that because of yesterday(Good Friday) I was made worthy of God’s love, God’s grace, God’s mercy, God’s promise of eternity. Without God sending his son to die on the cross for me, for you, I am nothing. I might as well give in to the world. I don’t have to though, nor do I want to, because Jesus died so we can live.

We have been handed this opportunity. This gift. This blessing. All we have to do is figure out what we’re going to do with it. While we are doing that, we might remember who we should be doing it for as well.

Be Blessed.

-kr

Written by vagabondrunn

March 23, 2008 at 2:05 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wooooh, this is exactly what I’ve felt last March. Doing nothing, spending all my time on the internet, and noy making extra effort to improve my relationship with God. I really wasted my Summer.
    Ahm I know this comment is awful late but I can’t resist. Just dropping by. 🙂 Godbless you!

    Prussian Carmine

    September 15, 2009 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

